BCI - Bureau de coopération interuniversitaire (anciennement connu sous le nom de « Conférence des recteurs et des principaux des universités du Québec » CREPUQ)

Home » Statements by CREPUQ

Statement by Quebec University Rectors and Principals

Quebec universities at a crossroads

With ten days remaining until the Summit on Higher Education, the heads of all Quebec universities issue the following message to the people of Quebec.

1 – Universities are so essential to Quebec’s development that the very future of the province is now at stake.

What kind of universities do we want for future generations? That is the main question to be debated as we approach the Summit on Higher Education. University rectors and principals have suggested a number of responses in our extensive contributions at the four preparatory meetings. We have continued to repeat that, in our opinion, a university education in Quebec must be both accessible and of high quality: accessible, because every Quebecer with the desire and ability should be able to attend university; and high quality, because university teaching and research must be comparable to that available in the best universities in North America and the developed world.

2 – The issue at the heart of the events that have rocked Quebec for the last year is restoring the kind of funding that will make it possible for universities to meet the needs and expectations of society. The debate over how to do this has monopolized attention for a whole year. It is high time that we get back to basics: rapid investment in our universities is essential so that they may properly fulfil their teaching and research mission and fully contribute to Quebec’s development.

Quebec universities are expected to perform as well as universities in the rest of Canada, but year after year, for 15 years, we have received less money per student to fund teaching operations than those other universities we are supposed to equal.

The government of Quebec must decide how to ensure this reinvestment.

3 - Quebec’s university system cannot absorb the $250 million in cutbacks imposed this year and next year without seriously impairing its ability to fulfil its mission. It will take years to recover from the damage caused by these cutbacks.

The $250 million in cutbacks over two years is another blow on top of the chronic underfunding problem. The government is proposing to begin reinvesting in the universities starting in fiscal 2014-2015. It thus recognizes the need for a significant injection of additional resources. However, the cutbacks required in the meantime will have severe and prolonged consequences.

The government has authorized the universities to transfer 50% of the cutbacks to the deficit. But whether the axe falls now or later, it will still cause considerable damage:

• Since 80% of the universities’ operating budget is spent on compensation (salaries and benefits), the cutbacks will mean hiring delays, unfilled positions and layoffs in all employment categories, for a total of about 1,400 jobs across the board.

• The reduction, and possibly the elimination, of some services, such as health services, psychosocial services, employment assistance, international mobility, and support services for students in financial need.

• Reduced education and training support for professors.

• A significant reduction in the number of spring and summer courses in some universities.

• Reduced institutional grant funds.

• Reduced acquisition of library documents, furniture and equipment.

• Delay in the acquisition of laboratory and IT materials.

• Reduced library hours.

• Delay in maintenance projects and worsening of the facility condition index.

• Cuts in janitorial services.

The university rectors and principals are well aware of Quebec’s financial situation. Under the circumstances, we are proposing that the government adopt an approach that will allow it to achieve its objective of a balanced budget in 2013-2014 while reducing the negative impact on universities.

The government budget period ends in March, whereas the university budget period ends in April. The government should allow the universities to use $125 million of the 2014-2015 government credits in April 2014 to compensate for the cutbacks required in 2013-2014. This would allow the government to meet its budget target in 2013-2014, while returning the universities to a sound financial footing in the same year. The credit allocated to the universities in subsequent years could then be adjusted to maintain the announced reinvestment plan.

4 - Quebec university participation in the Summit on Higher Education

Quebec’s universities have made significant contributions to the four preparatory meetings, presenting a substantial brief each time. We will attend the Summit in the hope of participating in constructive conversation on the role of universities in society and the means to support them in fulfilling that role.

The following is the universities’ position on various topics that have been discussed since the start of the preparatory meetings:

The universities favour the adoption of a provincial policy on universities and we intend to contribute fully in developing one. Note that the policy adopted in 2000 had set clear objectives for the universities, in particular with regard to accessibility and presence in Quebec, which the universities have met.

The universities propose that all concerned parties agree on university enrolment targets for Quebec.

We support the intention expressed by the Minister of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology to streamline accountability mechanisms and make them more efficient. We are in favour of pursuing efforts to identify strategic performance indicators that would allow for even more transparent accounting of access to university, the quality of teaching and research, and sound management.

With regard to governance, Quebec universities intend to continue applying best practices. We also insist on the importance of recognizing the essential role of university boards of directors, whose authority must be neither reduced nor diluted.

With regard to research, the universities restate the urgency of implementing the new provincial policy on research and innovation and hope that the April sessions of the Research Summit will accelerate this process.

With regard to financing, Quebec universities refuse to be associated with any solution that does not lead to increased funding from whatever sources may be available.

On the subject of a formula for university funding, the rectors and principals have indicated many times that they are open to discussing the matter, but we emphasize that the fundamental problem of underfunding will not be solved simply by a new formula, and the government must proceed quickly with reinvestment, without waiting for work on the new formula to be completed.

The university heads recognize the usefulness of an independent, autonomous body to reflect on, study and analyze the situation of Quebec universities, and advise both government and the universities. In fact, we have already proposed the creation of such a body in a detailed document submitted at the first preparatory meeting on the quality of education.

However, the universities could not support the creation of any organization whose mandate would allow it to control university development or encroach on the responsibilities of university boards of directors, which include administrators, professors, representatives of other university personnel, students and members of society at large.

Quebec universities are heir to a centuries-old tradition based on three founding principles: university autonomy, academic freedom and collegiality. The purpose of these principles is to protect universities from all undue influence and allow them to develop in accordance with best academic, governance and management practices. These principles make it possible for universities to remain a place for the independent, critical thinking that is essential to any free and democratic society. The only authority that may intervene legitimately to guide their development is a democratically elected government. The government of Quebec cannot and must not discharge itself of that responsibility.

IN CONCLUSION

In the first preparatory document for the Summit, the Ministry of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology called the Summit “a new departure, a renewed commitment to our higher education system, inspired by values such as equality of opportunity, excellence, the common good and responsible governance.

The Minister invites us to engage in “a real exercise in discussion, in a spirit of respect and thoroughness, on a single theme: making higher education a collective priority.

The rectors and principals of Quebec universities are fully committed to this objective.

BCI - Bureau de coopération interuniversitaire (anciennement connu sous le nom de « Conférence des recteurs et des principaux des universités du Québec » CREPUQ)

Accueil » Interventions de la CREPUQ

Déclaration des chefs d’établissement universitaire

Les universités québécoises à la croisée des chemins

À dix jours du Sommet sur l’enseignement supérieur, les chefs d’établissement de toutes les universités québécoises livrent le message suivant à la population du Québec.

1 – C’est l’avenir du Québec qui se joue maintenant, tant il est vrai que les universités sont essentielles à son développement.

Quelles universités voulons-nous pour les générations futures ? Voilà la question centrale à débattre à l’approche du Sommet sur l’enseignement supérieur. Les chefs d’établissement universitaire ont proposé des éléments de réponse à cette question à travers leurs contributions étoffées aux quatre rencontres préparatoires. Ils ont réitéré que, à leurs yeux, l’université québécoise doit être à la fois accessible et de qualité : accessible parce que tout Québécois et toute Québécoise qui en a le désir et la capacité doit pouvoir aller à l’université ; et de qualité parce que l’enseignement qui y est dispensé et la recherche qui s’y fait doivent être de qualité comparable à ce que l’on trouve dans les meilleures universités en Amérique du Nord et dans le monde développé.

2 – L’enjeu central des événements qui ont secoué le Québec depuis un an est le rétablissement d’un financement qui permettra aux universités de répondre aux attentes de la société. Le débat sur les moyens possibles a monopolisé toute l’attention depuis un an. Il est plus que temps de revenir à l’essentiel : les universités ont besoin d’un réinvestissement rapide pour leur permettre de réaliser adéquatement leur mandat d’enseignement et de recherche et de contribuer pleinement au développement du Québec.

On s’attend des universités québécoises qu’elles soient aussi performantes que les universités du reste du Canada, mais année après année, depuis 15 ans, on leur donne moins d’argent par étudiant pour financer l’enseignement que les universités que nous sommes censés égaler.

Le choix des moyens à prendre pour assurer ce réinvestissement revient au gouvernement du Québec.

3 - Le réseau universitaire québécois n’est pas en mesure d’absorber les compressions de 250 M$ qui lui ont été imposées pour cette année et l’an prochain sans encourir des dommages réels à sa capacité d’accomplir sa mission qui prendront des années à se résorber.

La pression créée par ces compressions de 250 M$ sur deux ans s’ajoute à celle du sous-financement chronique du réseau universitaire. Le gouvernement propose aux universités un réinvestissement à partir de l’exercice 2014-2015. Ce faisant, il reconnaît la nécessité d’un ajout important de ressources. Cependant, les compressions imposées entretemps auront entraîné des dommages sévères et prolongés.

Le gouvernement autorise les établissements à transférer 50 % des compressions au déficit. Toutefois, qu’elles interviennent maintenant ou plus tard, elles occasionneront des dommages considérables :

• Comme 80 % du budget de fonctionnement des universités va à la rémunération (salaires et avantages sociaux), ces compressions se traduiront par le report d’embauches, le non-comblement de postes, et par des mises à pied, pour toutes les catégories d’employés. À l’échelle du réseau universitaire, cela représente environ 1 400 postes ;

• Réduction, ou même fermeture de services, par exemple service de santé, aide psychosociale, aide à l’emploi, mobilité internationale, aide aux étudiants en difficulté ;

• Réduction des budgets de soutien aux professeurs, perfectionnement et formation ;

• Réduction significative de l’offre de cours dans certains établissements pour les sessions de printemps et d’été ;

• Réduction du fonds de bourses institutionnelles ;

• Réduction des acquisitions de documents de bibliothèques, de fournitures, d’équipements ;

• Retard dans l’acquisition du matériel de laboratoire et dans celui des technologies de l’information ;

• Réduction des heures d’ouverture des bibliothèques ;

• Report de projets d’entretien et aggravation de l’indice de vétusté de certains bâtiments ;

• Compression dans l’entretien ménager.

Les chefs d’établissement universitaire sont conscients de la situation financière du Québec. Dans ce contexte, ils proposent au gouvernement une approche qui lui permettrait d’atteindre son objectif d’équilibre budgétaire en 2013-2014 tout en diminuant les impacts négatifs pour les universités.

La période budgétaire du gouvernement et celle des universités ne sont pas la même, celle du gouvernement se termine en mars alors que celle des universités se termine en avril. Le gouvernement devrait permettre aux universités d’utiliser en avril 2014 125 M$ à même les crédits gouvernementaux de 2014-2015 pour combler la compression imposée en 2013-2014. Cela permettrait au gouvernement d‘atteindre sa cible budgétaire en 2013-2014, tout en rétablissant la base financière des universités pour la même année. Le crédit alloué aux universités pour les années postérieures serait ensuite ajusté pour maintenir globalement le plan de réinvestissement annoncé.

4 - Participation des universités québécoises au Sommet sur l’enseignement supérieur

Les universités québécoises ont apporté des contributions substantielles aux quatre rencontres thématiques, proposant chaque fois à la discussion un mémoire étoffé. Elles se rendront au Sommet en espérant participer à des discussions constructives sur le rôle des universités dans la société et sur le choix des moyens à prendre pour les soutenir dans l’exercice de ce rôle.

Voici la position des universités sur divers sujets qui ont été discutés depuis le début des rencontres préparatoires :

Les universités sont favorables à l’adoption d’une Politique nationale des universités et elles entendent y contribuer pleinement. Rappelons à cet égard que la Politique adoptée en 2000 avait fixé des objectifs clairs aux universités, notamment en matière d’accessibilité et de présence sur le territoire, et qu’elles y ont répondu.

Les universités proposent que l’ensemble des intervenants concernés convienne d’objectifs de scolarisation universitaire que le Québec devrait se donner.

Nous appuyons la volonté exprimée par le ministre de l’Enseignement supérieur, de la Recherche, de la Science et de la Technologie de revoir les mécanismes de reddition de comptes pour les alléger et les rendre plus efficients. Nous sommes favorables à la poursuite de travaux visant à identifier des indicateurs de performance stratégiques permettant de rendre compte de manière encore plus transparente aussi bien de l’accessibilité, de la qualité de l’enseignement et de la recherche, que de la bonne gestion.

En matière de gouvernance, les universités québécoises entendent continuer à mettre en application les meilleures pratiques. Elles insistent aussi sur l’importance de reconnaître le rôle essentiel joué par les conseils d’administration des universités, dont on ne doit pas amoindrir ou diluer l’autorité.

En matière de recherche, les universités réaffirment l’urgence de mettre en place la nouvelle politique nationale sur la recherche et l’innovation et souhaitent que les assises d’avril permettent d’accélérer ce processus.

En matière de financement, les universités québécoises refuseront de s’associer à une solution qui ne mènerait pas à une augmentation des ressources financières de toutes provenances dont elles disposent.

Au sujet de la formule de financement des universités, les chefs d’établissement ont fait part à maintes reprises de leur ouverture à la discussion, mais ils soulignent que le problème fondamental du sous-financement ne sera en rien réglé par une nouvelle formule et qu’il faut procéder rapidement au réinvestissement, sans attendre la conclusion des travaux sur cette formule.

Les chefs d’établissement universitaire reconnaissent l’utilité qu’aurait un organisme indépendant et autonome de réflexion, d’étude et d’analyse sur la réalité universitaire québécoise, qui pourrait conseiller le gouvernement et les universités. Ils en ont d’ailleurs proposé la création dans un document détaillé déposé lors de la première rencontre thématique portant sur la qualité de l’enseignement.

Cependant, les universités ne pourraient adhérer à la création d’un organisme dont le mandat aurait pour effet de contrôler leur développement et qui empiéterait sur les responsabilités des conseils d’administration des universités qui regroupent des administrateurs, des professeurs, des représentants des autres catégories de personnel, des étudiants, et des représentants de la société.

L’université québécoise est l’héritière d’une tradition plusieurs fois centenaire qui repose sur trois principes fondateurs : l’autonomie universitaire, la liberté académique et la collégialité. La raison d’être de ces principes est de protéger l’université de toute influence indue et de lui permettre de se développer selon les meilleures pratiques en matière académique, de gouvernance et de gestion. Ces principes permettent à l’université de demeurer un lieu de pensée critique et indépendant essentiel à toute société libre et démocratique. La seule instance qui puisse légitimement intervenir auprès des universités pour orienter leur développement est le gouvernement issu du processus démocratique. Le gouvernement du Québec ne peut pas et ne doit pas se décharger de cette responsabilité.

EN CONCLUSION

Dans le premier cahier préparatoire au Sommet, le ministre de l’Enseignement supérieur, de la Recherche, de la Science et de la Technologie qualifie le Sommet de « nouveau départ, d’un nouvel engagement envers notre réseau d’enseignement supérieur, animé par des valeurs comme l’égalité des chances, l’excellence, le bien commun et la gouvernance responsable ».

Le ministre nous convie à « un réel exercice de discussion, mené avec respect et rigueur, autour d’un seul et même projet : faire de l’éducation supérieure une priorité collective ».

Les chefs d’établissement des universités québécoises partagent entièrement cette volonté.

Le 15 février 2013